Chairperson: Mr Marcel Cassar
Secretary General: Mr Karol Gabarretta
Telephone: +356 2141 2210
Facsimile: +356 2142 4580
Address: Il-Hagra, Mdina Road, Attard, Malta

The Malta Bankers’ Association was first established in May 1962 as a co-ordinating and lobbying body, for banks operating in Malta, on sectoral issues and policies. Membership in the Association is open to all banks which are authorised to operate in Malta.

The organisational set-up of the Association consists of:

  • The Board, which is primarily responsible for policy issues
  • An Executive Committee
  • A full-time Secretariat
  • A number of sub-committees and working groups which deal with specific business areas and issues.

The Association is also represented on a number of National Committees. These include FinanceMalta, the Payment System Users’ Group, and the Joint Committee for the Prevention of Money Laundering and Funding of Terrorism.

Following Malta’s accession to the European Union in May 2004, the Association had applied for full membership of the European Banking Federation (EBF), of which it was previously an Associate Member. The EBF accepted the Association as a full member with effect from 1 July 2004.